REVEAL - Indigenous Art Awards

As part of its plans to increase support for Indigenous arts practice, The Hnatyshyn Foundation launched REVEAL Indigenous Art Awards to honour Indigenous Canadian artists working in all artistic disciplines. The comprehensive one-time program of awards and promotional activities, including 150 cash awards of $10,000 each awarded in 2017, will fuel the creation of new artistic works and leave a lasting cultural legacy.

The Awards are intended to recognize emerging and established Indigenous artists working in traditional or contemporary practices. The awards will be given in six artistic categories including dance, music, theatre, literature, film/video (media arts), and visual arts/fine craft.

A special event honouring the artists was held in Winnipeg on May 22nd, 2017.

Donors and Sponsors

We are greatful to the many individual patrons who have contributed so generously with cash donations, and to the organizations that have contributed through cash and in-kind contributions. The REVEAL Indigenous Art Awards are produced in partnership with the Canada Council for the Arts.


  • Ann McCain Evans
  • The Hnatyshyn Foundation
  • Assembly of First Nations
  • Shirley Greenberg
  • Gerda Hnatyshyn
  • Sheila Bayne
  • Canada Council for the Arts
  • Catholic Archdiocese of Ottawa
  • Government of Saskatchewan
  • William & Shirley Loewen
  • Dasha Shenkman
  • Stonecroft Foundation
  • James and Louise Temerty
  • Anonymous
  • Shelley Ambrose & Doug Knight
  • Asper Foundation
  • Bax Investments
  • Ann Birks
  • Bragg Foundation
  • Bruce Power
  • John and Bonnie Buhler Foundation
  • Astrid Cohen
  • John Craig
  • Danbe Foundation
  • Government of the Northwest Territories
  • Gowling WLG
  • Greystone Managed Investments
  • Eric Jackman
  • Vera Klein
  • The Koerner Foundation
  • Yann Martel
  • Ann McCaig
  • Hon. Margaret McCain
  • Joanne and Rob Nelson
  • Nuclear Waste Management
  • James & Sandra Pitblado
  • University of Saskatchewan
  • Todd Burke & Jennifer Block
  • BLP Investments Limited
  • Bruce & Vicki Heyman
  • Provincial Investments Inc.
  • Rob Guenette
  • Roman Catholic Toronto Diocese
  • Anglican Church of Canada
  • Gerry Arial
  • Canadian Electrical Association
  • Sandra Irving
  • Harbour Grace Shrimp Co. Ltd
  • Myles Kirvan
  • Labrador Sea
  • Arnie Thorsteinson and Susan Glass
  • Canada Helps
  • Barbara Fischer
  • Victoria Henry
  • John Hnatyshyn
  • Beverley McLachlin
  • Michael Moldaver
  • Maurice Panchyshyn
  • Rev. Gerard Pettipas
  • Ewa Piorko
  • Joanna Piorko
  • Nicole Presentey
  • Christopher Speyer
  • Dr. Shailendra Verma

Gifts in kind

  • Air Canada
  • Beaver Bus Lines Ltd
  • Fairmont Hotel Winnipeg
  • Office of the Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba
  • VIA Rail

Jury Members

  • Victoria Henry (Chair)
    Chair of The Hnatyshyn Foundation
  • Barry Ace
    Visual artist
  • Denise Bolduc
    Creative producer, programmer and arts consultant
  • Christine Lalonde
    Curator and art historian
  • Daniel David Moses
    Poet, playwright, author and teacher
  • Florent Vollant
    Composer, performer

Honorary Patrons

The Honorary Patrons embody the values and aspirations of the community they represent and join in supporting this unique initiative.



Photo: Philippe Landreville

James Bartleman

A member of the Chippewas of Rama First Nation and best-selling author of As Long as the Rivers Flow and The Redemption of Oscar Wolf, James Bartleman grew up in the Muskoka town of Port Carling.  Following a distinguished 35-year career in the Canadian Foreign Service, he served as Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario from 2002 to 2007. A key initiative during his tenure was the creation of the Lieutenant-Governor’s Book Program, which saw more than a million used books collected and donated to First Nations schools. In 2008, the Ontario Government established the James Bartleman Aboriginal Youth Creative Writing Award to recognize Aboriginal youth for their creative writing talent.


Rosalie Favell

Rosalie Favell is an award-winning photo-based artist, born in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Drawing inspiration from her family history and Métis (Cree/English) heritage, she uses a variety of sources, from family albums to popular culture, to present a complex self-portrait of her experiences as a contemporary aboriginal woman. Her work has appeared in exhibitions in Canada, the US, the United Kingdom, France, and Taiwan and has been acquired by the National Gallery of Canada, the Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography, the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian, and the Rockwell Museum of Western Art, among others. She has worked with grassroots organizations in Winnipeg, with Inuit educational groups in Ottawa, and with Nepalese women’s groups in Kathmandu.


Photo: Ramsay Pictures

James Hart

James Hart is one of the Northwest Coast’s most renowned artists. In addition to his mastery in carving monumental sculptures and totem poles, he is a skilled jeweller and printer and is considered a pioneer in the use of bronze among the Northwest Coast Artists. He is represented in major collections around the world including in the National Gallery of Canada, the Canadian Museum of History, and the Smithsonian Museum, and has had numerous solo exhibitions. Commissioned for the new Michael Audain Museum in Whistler, The Dance Screen is James Hart’s most ambitious project to date.  As Chief of the Sangaahl Stastas Eagle Clan since 1999, he holds the name and hereditary title of his great-great-grandfather, Charles Edenshaw.


Photo: Shilo Adamson

Waubgeshig Rice

An author and journalist from Wasauksing First Nation, Waubgeshig Rice developed a strong passion for storytelling as a child while learning about being Anishinaabe. The stories his elders shared and his unique experiences growing up in his community inspired him to write creatively. Stories he wrote as a teenager were published as Midnight Sweatlodgein 2011. His debut novel, Legacy, was published in 2014. He graduated from Ryerson University’s journalism program in 2002, and has worked in a variety of media across Canada. Along with reporting the news, he has produced television and radio documentaries and features, and currently works as a video journalist for CBC News Ottawa. In 2014, he received the Anishinabek Nation’s Debwewin Citation for Excellence in First Nation Storytelling.


Please note that the REVEAL Honorary Patrons do not play an operational role with the Foundation and are not involved in the review or selection of canadiates for the awards.