Programs / Developing Artist Grants

2021 Adjudicators

The Hnatyshyn Foundation gratefully acknowledges the contribution of the seven expert juries who selected the 2021 recipients of the Developing Artist Grants.

Classical Vocal Performance

Julie Nesrallah
Mezzo-Soprano, CBC Media Centre

Christiane Riel
Soprano, Professor at the University of Ottawa

Deantha Edmunds-Ramsay
Classical singer/composer, 2017 REVEAL recipient

Classical Music – Piano

Elaine Keillor
Pianist, Musicologist, Carleton University

Michael Kim
Director and Professor at the University of Minnesota

Kathleen Solose
Professor of Piano, University of Saskatchewan

Classical Music – Orchestral Instrument

Calvin Dyck
Concertmaster for the Vancouver Island Symphony, Director of the Abbotsford Youth Orchestra

Metro Kozak
Founder of the Sudbury Youth Orchestra

Wayne Toews
Conductor, Founder of the Conductors School, Saskatoon

Oscar Peterson Grant for Jazz Performance – Instrumental or Vocal

Joshua Rager
Pianist, arranger, composer and teacher based in Montreal

John Geggie
Performance Instructor, Jazz/Classical: Double Bass

Renee Rosnes
Canadian Jazz pianist and composer

Contemporary Dance

Mark Schaub
Artistic Director of Cirque du Soleil

Peggy Baker
Choreographer, Peggy Baker Dance, Toronto

Tony Chong
Choreographer, interpreter, photographer

Acting (English Theatre)

Brian Quirt
Artistic Director of Nightswimming

Sarah G Stanley
Associate Artistic Director of English Theater, NAC

Bob White
Director of New Plays, Stratford Festival, Member of the Order of Canada

Acting (French Theatre)

Anne-Marie Olivier
Author, storyteller and actor, Artistic Director and Co-Executive Director, Le Théâtre du Trident

Robert Reid
Director and Professor at Théâtre ACCT

Alain Jean
Executive Director at Centre des auteurs dramatique